Key takeaways
- RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO and CIBC all offer cards to newcomers with no Canadian credit history
- Limits of up to $15,000 at RBC, TD, Scotiabank and CIBC, based on income
- Most no-fee cards charge about 20.99% to 21.99% interest on purchases
- Existing American Express card holders abroad can transfer to an Amex Canada card
- If you are refused, a secured card from a $50 deposit is the fallback
Newcomer credit cards compared
Fees, rates and offers as of October 5, 2026, from each bank’s own pages. Purchase and cash advance rates are yearly interest rates (APR) for cardholders outside Quebec unless noted.
| Card | Annual fee | Purchase / cash advance rate | Welcome offer | Newcomer limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RBC Cash Back Mastercard | $0 | 21.99% / 22.99% | Up to 12% bonus cash back for 3 months (newcomer offer; apply by Oct 31, 2026) | Up to $15,000 |
| TD Cash Back Visa | $0 | 21.99% / 22.99% | Up to $150 in Cash Back Dollars (newcomer package) | Based on approval |
| TD Aeroplan Visa Platinum | $89 (waived year 1 in newcomer package) | 21.99% / 22.99% | Up to 20,000 Aeroplan points | Up to $15,000 |
| Scotia Momentum No-Fee Visa | $0 | 20.99% / 22.99% | 5% cash back for 3 months on up to $2,000 (check that the offer is still live) | Up to $15,000 (StartRight) |
| Scotiabank Scene+ Visa | $0 | 21.99% / 22.99% | Up to 5,000 Scene+ points in 3 months | Up to $15,000 (StartRight) |
| Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite | $150 (first-year rebate with Preferred Package) | 20.99% / 22.99% | Up to 35,000 Scene+ points with $2,000 spend in 3 months | Up to $15,000 (StartRight) |
| BMO CashBack Mastercard | $0 | Not shown on page; check the application | Up to 5% cash back for 3 months (max $125; apply by Oct 31, 2026) | Not stated |
| CIBC Dividend Visa | $0 | 21.99% purchases | None highlighted | Not stated |
| CIBC Dividend Platinum Visa | $99 (rebated for 2 years for newcomers) | 21.99% purchases | 3% cash back on gas, EV charging and groceries | Up to $15,000; $15,000 household income |
| CIBC Aventura Gold Visa | $139 (rebated for 2 years for newcomers) | 21.99% purchases | Annual fee rebate for 2 years | Not stated |
Welcome offers change often and many end in October or November 2026. Check the end date in our offers tracker.
How can you get a credit card with no credit history?
Banks have special newcomer programs. Instead of a credit report, they look at:
- Your status document: PR card or COPR, work permit or study permit
- Your passport and a Canadian address
- Your income. Foreign workers may need a letter from their Canadian employer confirming their annual income (Scotiabank asks for this)
- Often, a chequing account at the same bank
The newcomer limit of “up to $15,000” is a maximum. Most people get a limit that matches their income. Students without a job usually start lower.
If you already have an American Express card from another country, you may not need any of this. Amex Canada’s Global Card Transfer lets the basic cardholder of a foreign consumer Amex card, held for at least 3 months, apply in Canada without a Canadian credit report. You can get one card this way.
Which card should you pick first?
- Lowest cost: a $0 annual fee card such as RBC Cash Back, TD Cash Back, Scotia Momentum No-Fee, BMO CashBack or CIBC Dividend. Pick the one from the bank where you have your chequing account.
- You travel or shop in other currencies: the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite has no foreign transaction fees, which saves the usual 2.5% charge on foreign purchases. The $150 fee only makes sense if you use it often.
- You fly Air Canada: TD Aeroplan Visa Platinum, with the first-year fee waived in TD’s newcomer package.
- Refused by the banks: apply for a secured card. See secured credit cards.
Your first card is your oldest account for years to come, which helps your score. A no-fee card is easy to keep open forever.
How to use your first card to build credit
The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) says payment history is the most important part of your credit score. It also recommends using less than 30% of your limit.
- Pay the full statement balance by the due date every month. Set up automatic payment from your chequing account.
- Keep your balance under 30% of your limit. On a $2,000 limit, that is $600.
- Use the card for a few small regular bills, such as your phone plan.
- Do not apply for several cards at once. Each application can show on your report.
- Never take a cash advance. Interest starts the same day, at about 22% to 23%.
Plan your spending with the credit score builder or the credit utilization calculator. For the full picture, read building credit from zero.
Credit cards for international students
International students can get a first card too, usually with a lower limit because student income is lower. TD and Scotiabank include international students in their newcomer programs, and RBC accepts students who arrived in the last 12 months. Scotiabank also has a student version of the Momentum No-Fee Visa. Bring your study permit, passport and proof of enrolment.
Choose a card with no annual fee. A limit of $500 to $1,000 is enough to build credit if you use a small part of it and pay in full. If you are refused, a secured card works the same way for your credit file.
Fees to watch on any card
- Annual fee: some cards waive it only in year one. Put the renewal date in your calendar.
- Foreign transaction fee: most cards add a fee when you pay in another currency, including online shops that charge in US dollars.
- Cash advance: interest starts right away and there is often a fee too.
- Balance transfer: a low intro rate usually comes with a fee of a few percent.
- Late payment: missing a payment can cost you a promotional rate and hurts your credit history.
What does it cost if you carry a balance?
At 20.99%, a $1,000 balance costs about $17 to $18 in interest each month. If you pay only the minimum, it can take years to clear. Credit card interest is much higher than most other loans, so pay in full whenever you can. If you already have a balance, see how long it takes to pay off with the credit card payoff calculator.
How we handle offers. Offers on this page come from each bank’s own website and were last checked on October 5, 2026. Banks change offers often, so confirm the details on the bank’s site before you apply. No bank pays to be included or ranked here. If a link on this page ever earns us a commission, we will label it next to the link.
Common questions
Can I get a credit card in Canada with no credit history?
What credit limit will I get as a newcomer?
Does my credit history from my home country count?
Can international students get a credit card?
What if the bank refuses my application?
Sources
- FCAC: Improving your credit score
- FCAC: Credit report and score basics
- RBC: Offers for permanent resident and foreign worker newcomers
- RBC: Cash Back Mastercard
- TD: New to Canada banking package
- TD: Cash Back Visa Card
- Scotiabank: StartRight newcomer offer
- Scotiabank: Compare credit cards
- BMO: NewStart newcomer bank account offers
- BMO: CashBack Mastercard
- CIBC: Credit cards for newcomers
- American Express Canada: Moving to Canada (Global Card Transfer)